Sepulture

I buried you in that thirties suitcase
In an overgrown corner of the garden
Near the rocket-capsule summer-house,

I crammed you in a sepia hell
Instead of burning you
Or abandoning you like orphans

Two decades aged my Dorian Gray portrait
Before I rescued you from corpse-worms
And declared you North-pole

You captured my heaviest hungry heart
Crystallised my darkest thought
Into a starry night not unlike Van Gogh’s

I kept my ear out for whispers,
Echoes of the dreams you fuelled
Rescued me and compelled me north

You tapped out a Narwhal’s song
In unbroken semaphore
Until landfall and the midnight sun

Patrik Gryst (Nom de Plume)

Leave a Reply

