Shadow Child and Great Grey Wolf

where are you going Shadow-Child, are you lost?
said the Great Grey Wolf through his teeth
why do you run barefoot in the tangled forest,
disturbing your ancesstors with your footfall?

I am going to find the edge of the day
where the light and the darkness meet
smiled the dark-eyed child,
I must speak with my brother Twilight Bird

Then you will need a guide
only I know the cliff path to the peak
only I can speak like Twilight Bird with his beak,
I will lead you across the frozen sea

why would you help me ‘walks on four-legs’?
why would you risk the thin sea-ice,
climb the slippery cliff steps into the night
and wait with me for the first dawn-light?

why, to find the edge of the day
where the light and the darkness meet
smiled the moon-eyed wolf,
I would speak with my brother Twilight Bird

and what would you tell him Great Wolf,
far from your lair in the hollow wood
what spirit-story would you utter
so Twilight Bird would let you wait with me

I would tell him the tale of Shadow-Child
and Great Grey Wolf crossing the frozen sea
climbing the canyon walls of the night
to be blessed by the first dawn-light

Patrik Gryst

Leave a Reply

